• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home News Archive
News and events from the past.

Young Soloist Competition

E-mail Print

In an exciting new venture for the Winchester Symphony Orchestra, we are running a competition this year for promising young local musicians.

The final of the competition will be a concert on Saturday 10th May 2014, when entrants will perform one movement of a concerto of their choice with the orchestra under conductor Nicholas Wilks.

The first round takes place on Saturday 1st February 2014, in the main hall of Winchester College Music School (see map), from 10:00am to 12:30. The entrants will perform with piano accompaniment, the works offered being:
Elgar: Cello Concerto (1st movement)
Bruch: Violin Concerto (1st movement) (x2)
Mozart: Piano Concerto op. 21 (1st movement)
Ibert: Flute Concerto, (1st movement)
Marcello: Concerto for Soprano Saxophone
Bruch: Kol Nidrei (cello)
This is open to the public without charge. You are most welcome to attend.
Last Updated on Monday, 27 January 2014 15:51

Next Concert - 23 March 2014

E-mail Print

Robert Bridge

Poster-2014-thumb23rd March 2014

Elgar: Cockaigne Overture ("In London Town")

Shostakovich: Piano Concerto no. 2

Vaughan Williams: Symphony no. 6

Described by The Times as ‘that most gifted of young British pianists’ on the occasion of his Park Lane Group recital debut, Robert Bridge has followed a varied and acclaimed career as soloist and chamber music recitalist, including broadcasts for the BBC Promenade Concerts, Wigmore Hall concerts with the Koenig Ensemble and tours abroad. He joins the Winchester Symphony Orchestra this evening to play the uncharacteristically lively and light-hearted Concerto no. 2 for Piano, written for Maxim Shostakovich on the occasion of his birthday by his father Dmitri. This delightful work will be presented with two others, Symphony no. 6 by Ralph Vaughan Williams and the Cockaigne Overture by Elgar.

From Stokowski claiming the Symphony ‘will take its place with the great creations of the masters,’ to the composer threatening to tear up the draft, Vaughan Williams' Symphony no. 6 is a fascinating and challenging work still grappled with by audiences and performers alike. Some interpret its vast open phrasing and clashing harmonic sequences as a description of the aftermath of Nuclear War, however the composer himself commented ‘It never seems to occur to people that a man might just want to write a piece of music!’ Winchester Symphony Orchestra under their musical director, Nicholas Wilks, have dared to set themselves the task of scaling its heights and plumbing its depths, and couple this with Elgar’s Cockaigne Overture, a lively account of ‘stout and steaky’ character (Elgar’s words).

Come and enjoy this evening of superb music on Sunday 23rd March 2014 at 7.30pm, in Thornden Hall, Chandlers Ford.

Buy tickets

Last Updated on Monday, 10 March 2014 15:27

Next Concert - 17 November 2013

E-mail Print

Our next concert will take place on Sunday 17th November 2013. Jean Sibelius AlexanderSitkovetsky

Come and enjoy a fabulous evening of music with the Winchester Symphony Orchestra. Under their Musical Director Nicholas Wilks, the orchestra will be accompanying the virtuoso violinist Alexander Sitkovetsky. From New York to Melbourne this Russian-born Menuhin prodigy has been hailed "intuitive," "thrilling," "dazzling," and "sensitive," - and he joins the orchestra once again, this time to play the passionate and beautiful Sibelius' Violin Concerto.

This gorgeous work will be followed by Shostakovich's darkly magnificent 11th Symphony. Once described as 'A film score without the film,' the symphony evokes the turbulent Russian uprisings of 1905, portraying Shostakovich's deeply-felt love for his homeland amidst the scenes of war and destruction.

Buy tickets

Note: New Hall is closed for refurbishment. This concert will take place in Thornden Hall.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 27 November 2013 03:08

Next Concert - 23 March 2013

E-mail Print

Our next concert will take place on Saturday 23rd March 2013.Antonin Dvorak

The concert will be conducted by our musical director, Nicholas Wilks, and will take place in our home venue of New Hall, Winchester College.

The exciting programme is:

Antonín Dvořák The Noon Witch Based on a tale by Karel Jaromír Erben, this tone-poem takes its title from a frightening figure in Bohemian folklore whose prey was small children.
Mussorgsky arr. Rimsky-Korsakov Night on the Bare Mountain Mussorgsky's Bald Mountain depicts a witches' sabbath on a Ukrainian mountain-top, and was orchestrated after his death by his friend Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov.
Antonín Dvořák Symphony no. 5 in F major A pastoral, folkloric symphony but with a rousing brassy conclusion.


buy tickets

Last Updated on Monday, 02 December 2013 10:25

John Suchet on Beethoven

E-mail Print






Westover Farm, Goodworth Clatford, SP11 7LF

3.30PM (approximately 1 ½ hours)

Tickets £10, including welcome drink


Widely regarded as an authority on Beethoven, John Suchet, who is a presenter on Classic FM, has written an extremely comprehensive and compelling book on the musician. A difficult, complex man who overcame many struggles, not least with his deafness, Ludwig van Beethoven is surely one of the greatest artists that has ever lived.

With an engaging style, John Suchet will bring this fascinating artist to life. Whether you are a Beethoven fan, enjoy biographies or just want to hear a fabulous talk, you will be well rewarded by this wonderful portrayal.


For tickets, contact:

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

call Sarah O'Rorke 07765 860081

or go to website: under Books at the Barn

Last Updated on Monday, 25 March 2013 11:47

Page 2 of 6

Members' Area



Want to be notified of orchestra events? Join our list.