• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home News Archive Tchaikovsky Gala Concert

Tchaikovsky Gala Concert

E-mail Print

Porträt des Komponisten Pjotr I. Tschaikowski (1840-1893) cropped

Tchaikovsky Gala Concert

Sunday 22nd November 2015 at New Hall, Winchester College

Winchester Symphony Orchestra under its conductor Nicholas Wilks is pleased to announce the opening of its 2015-2016 season with this most irresistible of concert programmes, a veritable hors-d'oeuvre to dessert feast of Tchaikovsky masterpieces.

Under the guidance of his mentor Balakirev, the young Tchaikovsky re-wrote the Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture three times; even then Balakirev thought he had rushed it. Audiences have no such reservations however. Tchaikovsky's characterisations of Friar Tuck, the warring Montague and Capulet families, and the searing and ultimately doomed young love of the hero and heroine, are clearly recognisable and exquisitely portrayed in masterful orchestration which effectively both delight and pull at the heart-strings.

Tchaikovsky always held Mozart and Haydn in deep regard, and his desire to do them homage was soon realized in the Variations on a Rococo Theme for Solo Cello and Orchestra, the writing of which was considerably aided by the famous cellist of the time, Wilhelm Fitzenhagen, who presented the first performance. The enchanting theme, an immaculate tune of perfect symmetry and poise, is joyfully tossed between soloist and orchestra, each variation appended with a more characterful and sometimes extended coda.

Our soloist for this concert is the Winchester-born cellist Hannah Innes, a young musician with many awards and prizes, including the Rose Roitman Award from the Royal Academy of Music and the Harry Isaacs Piano Trio, Douglas Cameron and Montefiore prizes.

The Sixth Symphony (Pathétique) is surrounded by myth and legend, mostly detrimental to Tchaikovsky's character, however ultimately scholars have concluded that it was neither the expression of a death-wish nor a succumbing to depression; rather, Tchaikovsky reveals that he knew with this symphony he had finally reached the apex of confidence in his own work. Hear in the climax of the First Movement a premonition of the remorseless descending scales in the last; hear the five-in-a-bar hobbling waltz of the Second yet float free defying all rhythmic regulation; hear the teasing march in the Third lead to a hollow climax which virtually tricks you into clapping uproariously where the end is not yet in sight, and hear the devastating lament of the Fourth, fractured among the strings and culminating in low throbbing heartbeats in the double basses which at last expire. We have here a composer at the height of his powers. How tragic that Tchaikovsky was to die of cholera just a few days after the first performance.

Book now

You may buy tickets from our online box office at any time, or use our telephone box office: 0333 666 3366 which is available Monday to Friday 9am - 7pm and Saturday 9am - 5pm.
Please note there is an additional £1.50 charge for the telephone box office. We do not charge a fee for the online box office.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 06 October 2015 14:46  

Members' Area



Want to be notified of orchestra events? Join our list.